Hungarian Presidency Visits IOTA Secretariat

Erika Szabó's picture
Published by:

IOTA is pleased to announce that representatives of the Hungarian IOTA Presidency paid an official visit to the IOTA Secretariat in Budapest, Hungary on November 16th, 2023. During the visit, Mr. Ferenc Vágujhelyi, President of IOTA, and his delegation had a productive meeting with the management of the IOTA Secretariat. The Executive Secretary of IOTA, Mrs. Alix Perrignon de Troyes, provided an overview of IOTA, which serves as a unique international platform in its field of operation, and informed the delegates about the IOTA Technical Assistance Service, as well as IOTA's cooperation with other international organisations, such as the OECD, CIAT, NTO, and IMF.

Both sides had a discussion on the IOTA 2024 Work Programme activities and the recent changes in the Secretariat. One major change was the relocation of the IOTA Secretariat to a new office building in September, after being stationed in a previous building for 10 years. During the meeting, the Hungarian delegation also had the chance to visit the newly constructed IOTA studio. This studio will aid in the production of high-quality video content in the future, making IOTA's digital events even more professional.

Mr. Ferenc Vágujhelyi expressed gratitude to the members of the IOTA Secretariat for their work, loyalty, and professionalism in facilitating the achievement of priorities of the Hungarian Presidency in IOTA and wished to successfully continue mutually fruitful collaboration.

The National Tax and Customs Administration of Hungary (NTCA) was appointed as the next Presidency of IOTA for the 2023/2024 period during the 27th General Assembly in Tbilisi, Georgia, with Mr. Ferenc Vágujhelyi becoming the President of IOTA for this one-year term. The 28th General Assembly of IOTA will take place in Budapest under the Hungarian Presidency from June 18th and 20th, 2023. Hungary is one of the seven founding members of IOTA and has held IOTA Presidency previously during the 1998/1999 and 2005/2006 terms.